Squaw Valley Community of Writers 2012

26 Jun

Just two weeks from now I’ll be participating in the Squaw Valley writers conference in California. This will be my first conference and I’m excited, but admittedly a bit anxious, too. I do feel incredibly lucky that I was accepted and awarded the William Turnbull Memorial Scholarship. Since I will be flying in from Boston, the scholarship made it possible for me to attend.

squaw_valley

Squaw Valley in summer.

I’ve looked over the schedule for the conference, and it looks jam-packed almost every day. I’d like to take advantage of every opportunity, so I have a feeling I won’t be sleeping much. But that’s OK. I don’t expect this to be a vacation as much as a camp for writers: after all, I will be sleeping in a bunk bed.

In the meantime, I’ve been heavily revising the story I plan on submitting for workshop. I want to bring something that I’m relatively happy with, or at the very least, something that doesn’t horrify me. Because the conference is affiliated with two very good MFA programs (UC-Irvine and UC-Riverside) and seems like it is one of the more well-known of the various conferences around the country, I do expect the level of work will be of a certain quality, all of which puts added pressure on me to bring my best work.

I hope to continue to make updates here of my experiences at Squaw, and upload photos of what I expect will be a stunning (and inspirational) landscape.

2 Responses to “Squaw Valley Community of Writers 2012”

  1. Tracy Staedter June 27, 2012 at 9:02 am #

    Keep us updated on your progress!

    • E.M. June 27, 2012 at 9:06 am #

      I hope to blog from Squaw, although I did hear from a poet who is there now that there is spotty Internet access. Either way, I do plan to write all about it 🙂

Leave a Reply

Tracy Staedter

Science writing, editing and workshops

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

